top of page
Board Members


TAP is governed and managed by a board of directors. Board members are elected directly by Tibetan Association of Philadelphia community members in community-wide elections held December 10 during Nobel Peace Prize celebrations of His Holiness the Dalai Lama. Nominations are solicited and individual members also have the option of putting his or her name on the ballot. Community leaders make maximum effort to ensure a broad representation on the board in terms of age, gender, professional background, and experience.

There are currently six members and they each serve two year terms. The board is led by a President appointed by the directors themselves, and members meet at least once a month.


Current Executive Board members:

2020- Present

Thupten Chonyi, President 

Kalsang Dekyi, Vice President 

Jampa Paljor, Secretary

Tenzin Wangyal, Accountant

Phurbu Lhamo, Treasurer

Dechen Kunsang, Sunday School Director

2018 - 2019

Tenzin Shakyai, President

Thupten Monlam, Vice President

Kelsang Wangyal, Secretary

Dekyi Chodon, Accountant

Nyima Lhamo, Treasurer

Trinley Chodon, Sunday School Director


List of previous TAP boards on two year terms:



Kunga Dagpo, President

Jampa Tsewang/Choden Wangmo, Vice President

Tenzin Tsetan, Secretary

Tenzin Rabzey, Accountant

Jampa Dicky, Treasurer

Lobsang Thupten, Sunday School Director


Chodrak Legshay, President

Tsering Norbu, Vice President

Sonam Dorje, Secretary

Tsering Paldon, Accountant

Tsering Choezom, Treasurer

Thupten Chonyi, Sunday School Director


Tsering Jurme, President

Tenzin Tsultrim, Vice President

Lobsang Thupten, Secretary

Tsering Dicky, Accountant

Risang Wangmo, Treasurer

Thupten Chonyi, Sunday School Director


Karma Gelek, President

Tenzin Shakya, Vice President

Tenzin La, Secretary

Kalsang Dicky, Treasurer

Tsering Wangmo, Cashier

Thupten Chonyi, Sunday School Director


Tsering Wangdu, President

Jamphel Ruit, Vice President

Sonam Topgyal, Cultural Secretary

Dechen Kusang, Cashier


Tenzin Tsultrim, President

Tsering Jurme, Vice President

Tenzin Jorden, Secretary

Jampa Dicky, Cashier


Thupten Chonyi, President

Sonam Dorje, Vice President

Ngawang Samten/Tsering Jurme, Secretary

Jampa Dicky, Cashier


Thupten Chonyi, President

Sonam Dorje, Secretary



Board of
bottom of page